Zodiac Astral Stones - A Walk Through the Traditional & Nontraditional

Posted by Janet Marie on


Astral Stones vs. Birthstones - What is the difference?

Astral stones are categorized by astrological signs, whereas birthstones are associated with each month of the year. According to the American Gem Society, “the origin of birthstones is believed to date back to the breastplate of Aaron, which contained twelve gemstones representing the twelve tribes of Israel.” The Modern Birthstone list was created to include stones that are more accessible to the general public, as well as stones that have been discovered within modern times.

Ancient and Modern Birthstones  

Astral Stones of the Zodiac


Astral stone correlations are based on tradition, culture, and religious beliefs. D. Dennis discovered, through extensive research, beliefs of  early Hindus are widely used as the traditional resource for correlating astral stones to signs of the Zodiac (1991).  

Nontraditional astral stones are also thought to possess specific traits such as healing abilities and energy enhancement. This data was based on the significance people assigned to stones based on culture, region, historical tradition, oral history, and individual belief. 

Traditional and Nontraditional Astral Stones

A Walk Through the Zodiac

Aquarius: The Water Bearer
January 20 - February 18

The traditional astral stone for Aquarius is Garnet.

Nontraditional astral stones for Aquarius include Amber, Amethyst, Hematite, Lapis Lazuli, and Turquoise.


Pisces: The Fish
February 19 - March 20

The traditional astral stone for Pisces is Amethyst.

Nontraditional astral stones for Pisces include Amber, Bloodstone, Jade, Peridot, and Quartz Crystal.


Aries:  The Ram
March 21 - April 19

The traditional astral stone for Aries is Bloodstone.

Nontraditional astral stones for Aries include Amethyst, Carnelian, Emerald, and Lapis Lazuli.


Taurus:  The Bull
April 20 - May 20

The traditional astral stone for Taurus is Sapphire.

Nontraditional astral stones for Taurus include Agate, Carnelian, Lapis Lazuli, Emerald, and Azurite. 


Gemini:  The Twins  
May 21 - June 20

The traditional astral stone for Gemini is Agate.

Nontraditional astral stones for Gemini include Alexandrite, Citrine, Pearl, Tiger’s Eye, and Emerald.


Cancer: The Crab
June 21 - July 22

The traditional astral stone for Cancer is Emerald.

Nontraditional astral stones for Cancer are Amber, Diamond, Moonstone, Onyx, Pearl, and Ruby.

Leo:  The Lion
July 23 - August 22

The traditional astral stone for Leo is Onyx.

Nontraditional astral stones for Leo include Quartz Crystal, Citrine, Amber, Garnet, Peridot, and Ruby.


Virgo: The Virgin
August 23 - September 22

The traditional astral stone for Virgo is Carnelian.

Nontraditional astral stones for Virgo include Agate, Peridot, Rhodochrosite, Sardonyx, Ruby, and Sapphire.

Libra:  The Scales
September 23 - October 22

The traditional astral stone for Libra is Peridot.

Nontraditional astral stones for Libra include Agate, Coral, Diamond, Jade, Sapphire, Smoky Quartz, and White Opal.



Scorpio:  The Scorpion
October 23 - November 21

The traditional astral stone for Scorpio is Aquamarine.

Nontraditional astral stones for Scorpio include Amber, Bloodstone, Jasper, Malachite, Sard, Sardonyx, and Ruby.



Sagittarius:  The Archer
November 22 - December 21

The traditional astral stone for Sagittarius is Imperial Topaz.

Nontraditional astral stones for Sagittarius include Tourmaline, Moonstone, Jasper, and  Malachite.



Capricorn:  The Goat
December 22 - January 19 

The traditional astral stone for Capricorn is Ruby.

Nontraditional astral stones for Capricorn include Agate, Amethyst, Garnet, Onyx, Quartz Crystal, and Turquoise.

If a stone feels right to you, it can be used in support of your astrological sign. Choose stones that feel right to you!



Share this post

← Older Post Newer Post →

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published.